Local Event Sports Association

Little League Baseball, originally founded in 1939 in Williamsport, Pennsylvania, organized the first ever Little League World Series tournament on August 21, 1947.

Originally called the National Little League Tournament, the Little League World Series (LLWS) was restricted to teams from the United States until the mid-1950's, when international teams were allowed to compete as well.

The first team to win the Little League World Series was an all-star team from the home site in Williamsport, PA, which has been home to the LLWS since its inception. The local nine defeated an all-star team from Lock Haven, Pennsylvania, 16-7.

Since the early days of the LLWS, it has grown both in popularity and size, with the current format of eight qualifying teams from the U.S. along with eight qualifying teams from different regions of the world.

Each state in the United States crowns a champion team based on sectional and...

Read Complete Article at Bleacher Report - Sports & Society
Article is property of BleacherReport.com

Leave a Reply


About LESA

There is something about me..